Author Topic: Scrapers?  (Read 1414 times)

Offline Curtis Haden

• Trad Bowhunter
Scrapers?
« on: October 01, 2008, 08:54:00 PM »
Which do you think is the best and easiest to use for fine tillering bamboo-backed and self-bows? (beginner here)

1. Mystic Scraper -    http://www.3riversarchery.com/Product.asp?c=49&s=217&p=0&i=6301  

2. Flat Cabinet Scraper -    http://www.3riversarchery.com/Product.asp?c=49&s=217&p=0&i=6307  

3. Wooden Handled Smooth Scraper -    http://www.3riversarchery.com/Product.asp?c=49&s=217&p=0&i=8561-1  

The Mystic Scraper looks to be the most versatile, from my admittedly inexperienced view.  I've been using a small pocket knife up till now.  Any advantages/disadvantages to the ones I listed?

Also, on a cabinet scraper, the cutting edge is a wire edge, burr, or hook shaped edge?  Is that what the "burnishing tool" is used for?  To create the hook or burr?
Rose Oak Ace 41@28
Super Shrew Gold 42@28
Black Widow PCH-X 40@28
Toelke Pika 43@28
_ _ _

A subtle play on words is better than a poke in the eye.

Offline hit or miss

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Scrapers?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2008, 09:15:00 PM »
I use a flat cabinet scraper.  That said I think I would be interested in the mystic scraper also.

I may have to order one!

Offline Curtis Haden

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2008, 12:16:00 AM »
C'mon guys... need some help on the cabinet scraper "edge" quesion.  I found a flat piece of 1/32" thick steel laying around, and I'm making a scraper out of it.  So far, I've filed a single bevel edge sharp, and used a steel rod to roll a burr on the beveled side. (pushing the rod across the edge from the non-beveled side)

Am I doing it right or wrong???
Rose Oak Ace 41@28
Super Shrew Gold 42@28
Black Widow PCH-X 40@28
Toelke Pika 43@28
_ _ _

Offline Josh_IOWA

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2008, 08:23:00 AM »