Author Topic: supplies..  (Read 1013 times)

Offline sixshooter4

• Trad Bowhunter
supplies..
« on: November 16, 2008, 07:26:00 PM »
hey every body, im new at bow makeing and could use a few helpfull hints. i have already purchased a stave but i need to find a place to purchase the following and my pockets are a little shallow at the moment like every one els ha ha so price is a bit of an issue.

draw knife
wood rasp
un-procesed sinew
seniew glue
rawhide

any help would also be apreciated. ill be posting a play by play for my first bow, once i get these items and get to work. thanks!
Master SGT Murphy

American by birth
Texan by the grace of god

Offline Shaun

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: supplies..
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2008, 08:53:00 PM »
Sarge

draw knife at the antique shops/mall, look at a couple of shops or booths and you should find some for under $30.

wood rasp, a Stanley 4-way at the hardware store of a used farriers rasp from an archery supply catalog.

sinew from deer legs - its that time of year in TX. There is a nice easy to harvest piece of sinew from the hoof to the joint on the back side of the legs. Or, back sinew is the thin layer on loins, but harder to cut off and clean. Find a deer hunter or go to a locker that processes deer and ask.

glue can be hide glue or Tightbond II or III.

you most likely won't need rawhide unless you are making a yew bow. Lots of osage in TX and no need to back with rawhide.

have fun making a bow.

Offline sixshooter4

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2008, 09:48:00 PM »
thank alot,

i have done a little looking at the antique shops and i have a good one placed for about $30 after a little haggleing.

and i thank you greatly for the information on the stanley 4-way!