Author Topic: Hickory Stave Question  (Read 1463 times)

Offline Wyostikbo

• Trad Bowhunter
Hickory Stave Question
« on: January 12, 2009, 09:05:00 PM »
Guy's I have a hickory stave that is 2 months green. I heard that I should try and get the bark off now or use dynamite later. I got the bark off trying to preserve the back as best I could. There are a few knicks about 1/8" deep where I got carried away. Of course I'm shooting to just remove the bark use that as the back of the bow since I don't believe I could ever chase a ring. How pristine does the back on a hickory bow need to be? Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks, Brent

Offline talkingcabbage

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hickory Stave Question
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 09:47:00 PM »
The nicer the better.  Any place a splinter could raise is a potential bow breaker.  In the same breath I'll admit I'm not an expert by any means, especially when it comes to self-bows, so I'm watching with you to see what some of the others have to say.

Joe
Joe

"If your work speaks for itself, don't interrupt."

One of two things will happen; it'll either work or it won't.

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 11:19:00 PM »
How thick are the growth rings? Hickory is tough stuff and can take some violations. Smooth the back out, especially where you nicked the back and you should be OK. You could add a silk or linen backing for safety but it's probably not necessary.
   If the wood is cut during the growing season the bark will slip. If cut during the dormant season the bark will hold tight.      Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 08:59:00 AM »
1/8" is pretty deep.  I think I'd chase the next ring.  Definitely smooth it out real well.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Wyostikbo

• Trad Bowhunter