Author Topic: lowering draw weight on a recurve  (Read 979 times)

Offline rthook21

• Trad Bowhunter
lowering draw weight on a recurve
« on: January 30, 2009, 09:52:00 AM »
I'm just starting out shooting traditional and funds are kinda tight, I have an old Ben Pearson recurve that I picked up cheap and have successfuly fixed the lower limb twist using the hot water method. My question is can I reduce the draw weight by taking a little off the sides of the limbs like long bows?
Any ideas?
Thanks  :knothead:

Offline Apex Predator

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: lowering draw weight on a recurve
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 12:46:00 PM »
Yes, but it would be very easy to botch the job.  How many pounds are we talking?
I didn't claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegetables!

Offline rthook21

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 01:24:00 PM »
Only talking 5-7# its a cheap bow, I just want to be able to work on my form more comfortably, I'm a lefty so finding a good low poundage bow is hard.
Thanks

Offline Jerry Gille

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2009, 02:44:00 PM »
I've done it for the weight range you are talking about.  Tape the back off and draw a good accurate center line from which to work.  Map your back off in inch or half inch increments and start removing material evenly from side to side and limb to limb.  You need to pay attention to keeping the tiller where it was at, so you may have to do a little adjusting here and there.

Just go slow and don't take too much off.  Keep it all even and you'll be fine.

Offline Apex Predator

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2009, 04:52:00 PM »
I would draw two lines on each limb about 1/8" from each edge and work to the line.
I didn't claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegetables!

Offline Greg Szalewski

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2009, 10:26:00 PM »