Author Topic: Shoot me in the right direction  (Read 892 times)

Offline RunninWild77

• Trad Bowhunter
Shoot me in the right direction
« on: March 26, 2009, 03:18:00 AM »
Okay guys, I figured the next bow I get, is gonna be one I make myself. I have never done this before, so I'm gonna need all the knowledge I can get. So instead of going out and buying random books on bowbuilding, I was hoping you guys could point me to the best books to get, tips and tricks, and any thing else I should know. I'd like to make a nice glass lam bow(or bows,lol), but would that be too deep? Should I start out with a stingle stave/self bow to get the feel of things? Lets hear it.

Thanks,
Walt
Great Northern Firball 65@28
63' Hoyt Pro Hunter 49@28
74' Bear Kodiak Magnum 45@28 (my wife claims its hers now lol)
71' Bear Grizzly 40@28
70s ? Shakespeare Necedah 50@28

"Fast is nice, but accuracy is everything"-Wyatt Earp

Offline Dick in Seattle

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shoot me in the right direction
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2009, 03:43:00 AM »
I'm sure there will be many who disagree, but I tried selfbow building and just didn't enjoy it.  I decided to try glass building and love it... though so far, I'd have to say I'm pretty pitiful at it.  My first bow came out very nicely... second blew up because of a stupid error... third didn't come out well, not sure if my fault or the glass, but I did manage to cut the bow in half lengthwise and make a real narrow light weight bow out of the good half, and it shoots great (I shoot very light weight).  Fourth bow has a problem, but I'm fixing it and should get a good bow.   I feel I've made some key errors but learned from them.

Best beginning point is to get the Bingham Projects dvd and watch it several times.  Start simple.  Again, not everyone would agree, but I'd recommend starting with a simple, basic D shape long bow.