Author Topic: Reducing weight on a lam recurve?  (Read 821 times)

Offline LC

• Trad Bowhunter
Reducing weight on a lam recurve?
« on: March 30, 2009, 10:19:00 PM »
I was just wondering how the most of you folks reduce weight on glass laminated recurves. I've been making my own for about ten years and just lately been making a few again. I had the weight down pretty good with the old Bow tuff glass but the last few I've been using the scrim glass. It's .003 thicker so I've been deducting for that but still coming in heavy. I've always in the past flat sanded the glass but thought I'd read some sand the limb edges to reduce weight also. Any opinions?
Most people get rich by making more money than they have needs, me, I just reduced my needs!

Offline Chuck Hoopes

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Reducing weight on a lam recurve?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 10:36:00 PM »
Ive been sanding the edges of my production glass lam bows for years.  Ive used this method to reduce wt. on at least 6 bows.  Simple, and works fine.  The one I have been shooting for the last yr. is a Howett Hunter, that is 55# reduced from 70# by edge sanding.  Took all of a 1/2hr.

Offline LC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 10:43:00 PM »
Well that sounds good Chuck. Cause thats about what I'm needing. How much are you having to take off the sides to reduce 15lbs? Like I said I've always flat sanded and hated to go much over 5lbs off that way.
Most people get rich by making more money than they have needs, me, I just reduced my needs!

Offline LC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2009, 10:45:00 PM »

Offline Chuck Hoopes

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2009, 11:31:00 PM »