Author Topic: Mulberry Selfbow ?  (Read 853 times)

Offline longbowhntr

• Trad Bowhunter
Mulberry Selfbow ?
« on: April 20, 2009, 03:50:00 PM »
I was recently gifted a mulberry "fence post" (that's what he called it) that was cut about 5-6 years ago and stored in the dry for all that time.It was wide enough that I split it again and got 2  staves. One is 3" wide and about 6" deep including about 1" of sap wood, the other is 4" wide and same depth.

I have never worked with mulberry before and need a starting point for layout. I did get a look at one at OJAM this year that about blew my mind, it was so thick that I thought it had to be a 100plus pound bow when I first saw it. I thought it was osage. If I remember right I think I was told it was about 40lbs.

Where to start? How wide, long and deep and what design. I would like to get about 50-55lbs at 26". Also do you think these are deep enough to maybe get a belly split off them?

Thanks David

Offline arrowslinger22

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Mulberry Selfbow ?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 05:08:00 PM »
Having just finished one yesterday, here's what I can tell you.  I'd go at least 2" wide if you can and 66" long.  For that weight, I would expect it might be .75 or more.  Crazy.  Mine is 1.75 wide and 62 and came in at 30 @28.  It's still about .5 to Someone told me "go wider than osage" and they were certainly correct.  The stuff was not very dense and was more like green ash than osage.  I have a bunch of it, so I hope the rest is better.
Only when the last tree has died
and the last river been poisoned
and the last fish been caught
will we realize that we cannot eat money

Offline RAU

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 08:42:00 PM »
Ive not tried it yet but I've been meaning to.Theres a nice straight tree on the neighbors land he said I can cut.

Heres a link to somm good stuff

http://www.murraygaskins.com/mulberry.html

Offline ozarkcherrybow1

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter