Author Topic: Solid wood limb cores?  (Read 463 times)

Offline coaster500

• Trad Bowhunter
Solid wood limb cores?
« on: May 02, 2009, 11:42:00 AM »
I am new to traditional archery. I purchased a Don Dow Longbow from your classified and am really enjoying it. I am thinking about having a takedown longbow built. I know some woods are not good limb woods and but can be laminated over core woods for looks. My question is what woods make the best core woods. I like the look of highly figured woods like Bacote, Zebra, Striped Ebony etc but are they good as core woods. I have read that solid limbs like walnut and maple are more durable than laminated limbs. After a life time hunting with firearms and compound bows, this is very refreshing.

Thanks
The American system of democracy will prevail until that moment when politicians discover that they can bribe the electorate with their own money

Offline 4 point

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Solid wood limb cores?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2009, 12:40:00 PM »
Birdseye maple is a good limb wood. I have a birdseye maple and bacote Kota Killum that is the best looking bow I own and its a good shooter also. Thanks Travis

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2009, 01:24:00 PM »
I like lighter weight cores with figured veneers over them. A-boo ,red elm and walnut are all good core woods.
Stay sharp, Kenny.

https://www.kennysarchery.com/

Offline coaster500

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2009, 01:38:00 PM »
This is part of a quote from a bow builder i am talking with. This is why I am asking questions? He seems to think solid limbs are better than laminated veneers, if I am reading this right he thinks they are more durable?