Author Topic: The Secret to Heat tempering Bamboo?  (Read 736 times)

Offline flint kemper

• Trad Bowhunter
The Secret to Heat tempering Bamboo?
« on: September 01, 2009, 08:43:00 PM »
I know you were expecting the answer. I have searched and searched for reliable info as to how Howard Hill and John Schulz tempered their bamboo for their bows. I have some knowledge but not all of it. Would anyone be willing to share what info you might have as well? Thanks Flint

Offline Ricker

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: The Secret to Heat tempering Bamboo?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 11:13:00 PM »
That seems to be a loaded and well guarded secret apparently.  I have every reason to believe Dave Miller knows and is willing to share this knowledge in a "teacher- mentor" class situation for some people.  Dave is an exceptional person and a wealth of knowledge too.
We shouldn't expect the information to come cheap or for free....they paid their dues and I guess we should too.

I think there are some that think they know how but the mystique of really how to do it is a trade secret that should probably be preserved for those in the business of building those pieces of art we all love and cherish.
Respect for the Howard Hill fans and the bowyers he chose to teach...

I have a deep love for the spirit of hand craftsmanship and how the fore fathers toiled and studied from others to gain the knowledge they learned.  Piece by piece.
I worry that the day will come with the internet when the secrets will be common knowledge with no physical effort or any type of "dues" paid to learn the craft as things were learned in the past.
A student used to learn under a journeyman for years....for a reason.  Quality. Patience. Respect for the craft.