Author Topic: end grain orientation  (Read 890 times)

Offline coulter

• Trad Bowhunter
end grain orientation
« on: September 04, 2009, 05:14:00 PM »
hi guys! this is my first post, im new to bow building so please bare with me. i am planing to build an ipe bow backed with hickory, i saw a plan for such a bow but the growth rings on the hickory were running up and down instead of side to side, is this the proper orientation for hickory backing. any help would be great, thanks

Offline Art B

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: end grain orientation
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 06:16:00 PM »
I've not used the edge grain orientation but I've seen it used. I've used the bias cut (like this//////) and it worked fine. Did have a problem with some edge grain Ipe I used on the belly though. Good luck with yours.

ART B

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 07:42:00 PM »
Hickory is pretty tough. Either edge grain or bias grain will work but like Art said biased grain is best. Another more important thing is if you have grain run offs along the edge of the backing strip. Those areas can cause problems if a splinter raises there.
   Hickory backed ipe will make an excellent bow. Keep your limbs narrow though. 1" to 1 1/4" max. What draw length and weight are you shooting for?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline coulter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 08:47:00 PM »
thanks for the help art & pat i need all the help i can get. pat the bow i am hopeing for is 66" ntn and 50@27".

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2009, 10:12:00 PM »
You can easily achieve that with a bow of 1" width(maybe 1 1/8") at the fades and out 6" to 8" before tapering to 1/2" tips. The tips can be reduced more later after the tillering is done.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline coulter

• Trad Bowhunter