Author Topic: Need help  (Read 568 times)

Offline jfreeman

• Trad Bowhunter
Need help
« on: September 21, 2009, 07:56:00 AM »
jfreeman
Trad Gang Member
Member # 21380

posted September 20, 2009 06:04 PM                        
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have a long bow and noticed the other day that the end tips were splitting, I have included the link to some pics. I am just getting into this sport. Dose anyone have any advice.....I live in Dawsonville GA. Is there anyone local who could repair this. I was told by a friend of mine that shooting a fast flight string with wooden tips caused this. He could repair this but he just had shoulder surgery. I would like to have this repaired before deer season is over. I have spent alot of time shooting and I am confindent I could get a deer this season. My plan was to become confindent with a longbow then learn to build and work on them. I am very handy but not ready to take on bow building or repairs without instructions or direction.
thanks
 http://picasaweb.google.com/j.kjfreeman/Bow?feat=directlink

Offline Tom Leemans

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Need help
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2009, 08:59:00 AM »
o.k. I can't get that to work
Got wood? - Tom

Offline dutchwarbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2009, 11:38:00 AM »
Jfreeman;

I had that countless times with softer tips. Especially zebrano overlays had troubles with ff. But I even had padouk splitting on me, but only on narrow nocks without sidegrooves (yet).

I suggest you sand your overlays off with the beltsander, glue on new overlays, made from harder materials. I've had great results with wengé, ipé, purpleheart, but also with horn. Bone, antler and other rock-hard woods will do the job aswell.

many glass 'ff-proof' bows have phenolic overlays. I haven't tried them, but you can't go wrong with phenolic.

Nick