Author Topic: Cracked Limb, need advice  (Read 393 times)

Offline steelerhead95

• Trad Bowhunter
Cracked Limb, need advice
« on: September 28, 2009, 09:20:00 PM »
Hello everyone, this is my first post here. I am having a problem with my recurve, and this place was recommended to me by many people. I was told that all that you want to know about traditional bowshooting can be found here. I'm a novice trad shooter (recent compound convert). I have a colt firearms gamemaster recurve. It is pretty old as far as i know, it is 60 inches and 49#. I have been shooting it a lot lately, but after shooting yesterday i noticed some cracking on the upper limb. i'm not sure if it is a surface crack that I can deal with and keep using the bow, or if the bow is ruined. I really hope i can keep shooting the bow, because i cannot afford a new recurve now. I am trying to include some pictures, but I'm not a very good photographer and couldn't get a really great picture of the damage. if the damage is not going to damage the bow, can i stop it from spreading somehow? I would welcome and appreciate as much advice as possible about this problem. Thank you very much.

Offline Stiks-n-Strings

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Cracked Limb, need advice
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 03:42:00 AM »
Here's a copy of a post I posted a little while back...
Done a real smart one today. Dropped a stand on my bow from 15'.  
It looks worse in the pics but the glass is busted a little and the limb core boogered a little on the side about 1/8" deep from side to center the glass lam is seperated from the maple about 1" long by 1/8".
Can I fix this at home and how do I do it or do I need to send to a bowyer. Season starts in a couple of weeks and this is the only bow I have to hunt with until late Nov.
Here are some pics.
Direst link to pics. I couldn't figure out how to resize
 http://i989.photobucket.com/albums/af13/Macscustomcalls/DSC00792.jpg