Author Topic: St Jude's Longbow Build-a-long  (Read 2408 times)

Offline TradBowyer

• Trad Bowhunter
St Jude's Longbow Build-a-long
« on: August 02, 2009, 01:42:00 PM »
DWT was the St Judes auction winner of a custom Dry Ridge Archery bow. He was interested in some pics and i've never done a build a long before so I thought...why not?? Unfortunately, we lost our camera for a period of time so the glueups of the limb were done with no photographic evidence. but we'll try to make it up from here on out...the bow requested is a T/D longbow..bloodwood and osage footed riser. The limbs are going to be osage on the belly and snake skins on the front. Because we are using snakes, i used black glass on the back to help them stand out better. Here are the components...the 2 glued limbs, the bloodwood and osage riser blocks

we will start with the riser. I'm doing the riser in 2 steps. The first step will glue the 2 blocks together and the next step will be the cutting and glueing of the "swoosh". I use Urac185 for the riser glueup..the ratio of the 2 components are 13:100...doing the math, I use 1.2 grams of powder to 8.9 grams of liquid. Since I'm gluing a total of 4 surfaces (bloodwood, osage,and a thin accent), I'll double this mixture.

When combined, you get a dark slurry mixture

Here are the riser pieces clamped and ready to go into the 100 degree box.

We will pick up on  Monday. thanks for following along

Offline Dano

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: St Jude's Longbow Build-a-long
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2009, 01:56:00 PM »
We like build a longs!!!    :bigsmyl:
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy" Red Green

Offline dutchwarbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2009, 07:26:00 PM »
yeah dano, we sure do! this looks the start of a great one  :D

Nick
in the old days religion had it's use to keep nations together. Today, religion tears nations apart.

Nick

Offline DWT

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter