Author Topic: Exercising bow while tillering  (Read 1220 times)

Offline sssnap

• Trad Bowhunter
Exercising bow while tillering
« on: November 26, 2009, 11:19:00 AM »
Ok, exercising your bow between wood removal sessions helps prevent excess set. Personally I don't like to partially drawing the bow by hand as I'm never sure that I'm not over drawing by accident. So, I've been using my tiller tree to exercise. My question is what do you consider adequate strain to put the bow thru it's paces and still not over draw it at what ever weight it is at, at the time?
I have a scale on my tiller tree so I know I'm not overstraining the bow. All I've ever read has said exercise and not much more, just want to know what you guys think.
Ron Weaver

Offline drewsbow

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Exercising bow while tillering
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2009, 11:42:00 AM »
what I was told was not to go above your target weight ? I am no expert however so I don't know for sure but sounds reasonable . Drew
Try to be the person your dog thinks you are :0)
TGMM Family of the Bow
N.Y. Bowhunters member
BigJim 3 pc buffalo 48@28
BigJim thunderchild 55@31
BigJim thunderchild 55@32 Jim's bow

Offline Butch Speer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2009, 12:38:00 PM »
Ron,
Jim Hamm said to never draw a bow past the target weight when tillering. Tiller it as usual, then exercise it on your tree, never going past your weight. I will exercise it to weight 15 to 20 times. It can sure change tiller between the 1st. & 20th pull. If you do it like this, then you should never have much problem hitting the weight you want. Plus a lot less set doing this way too. It never over stretches the wood.
God Bless

Butch the Yard Gnome

67 Bear Kodiak Hunter 58" 48@28
73 Bear Grizzly 58" 47@ 28
74 Bear Kodiak Hunter 45@28
Shakespeare Necedah 58" 45@28

Nothing is ever lost by courtesy. It is the cheapest of pleasures, costs nothing, and conveys much.
- Erastus Wiman

Online Pat B