Author Topic: Bow froms  (Read 538 times)

Offline Tyler Langston

• Trad Bowhunter
Bow froms
« on: December 18, 2009, 11:51:00 PM »
What kind of method do you guys use to clamp your bow to the forms? and which way works the best? How could I make one?

Offline Dwillo

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bow froms
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2009, 12:08:00 AM »
Hey Tyler,

Assuming you want to build laminated bows you can check out Bingham Projects. They have everything you would need as well as DVD's that explain the whole process. Their instructions include form making and building the hot box used for curing the epoxy. They offer plans for several recurves and longbows. I am not an expert, nor very experienced-only built three bows so far, but I use the fire hose method. There are also many "build a longs" with great tutorials on this site. There are several sponsors selling lamination's here. I haven't tried them yet but hear great things about them.

Dan
What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.

Henry David Thoreau

Offline Stiks-n-Strings

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2009, 01:03:00 AM »
I think alot of these fellas use the bike tube forms.
 I will probably go that route when I make a laminated bow.
Striker stinger 58" 55# @ 28
any wood bow I pick off the rack.
 2 Cor. 10:4
 TGMM Family of The Bow
 MK, LLC Shareholder
Proud Member of the Twister Twelve

Online Walt Francis

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2009, 01:27:00 AM »
I have built bows using the bike tubes, clamps, and the air hose methods.  For me the air hose method is the easiest, fastest, and most consistent method for building laminated bows.  The bike tube method is the least expensive method and works, but has more room for error then the air hose method.
The broadhead used, regardless of how sharp, is nowhere as important as being able to place it in the correct spot.

Walt Francis