Author Topic: question about osage laminations  (Read 493 times)

Offline eric101

• Trad Bowhunter
question about osage laminations
« on: December 26, 2009, 12:59:00 PM »
I'm new to trad bows but wanting to build a laminated longbow with Osage i have and was wondering if you have to have a core wood of another type or you can just layer the Osage.I'm wanting to copy my Savannah.Has anyone done this and will it work?Any advice would be really appreciated thanks.

Offline Hermann From Bavaria

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: question about osage laminations
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2009, 06:22:00 PM »
hey eric

you can use 2 layers osage. one core(tapered), one belly. for backing i prefer on osage bamboo. but hick would do it also good i think.

greets herm
in past even the future was better, so what do you want?

Offline Tyler Langston

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2009, 06:52:00 PM »
I have a longbow thats getting ready to be made with 3 layers of osage one core lam of glass and two outter lams of glass.

Offline eric101

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 07:06:00 PM »
Tyler,are you building your bow or someone else?I've watched a few build along and I'm really impressed with the skill and knowledge of the Bowyer's on here and the way they help each other.I'd like to see pics of your bow when it is finished.
     Thanks Eric.

Online Walt Francis

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2009, 11:42:00 PM »
Eric, I have had several bows made with Osage veneers.  Some of the bows were made with Osage cores and others with action-boo, or boo only cores.  The bows with boo only cores had/have the least amount of hand shock and were faster.  My thoughts are the Osage cores added a lot of extra weight to the limb compared to boo.
The broadhead used, regardless of how sharp, is nowhere as important as being able to place it in the correct spot.

Walt Francis

Regular Member of the Professional Bowhunters Society