Author Topic: Osage Board bow question  (Read 379 times)

Offline Blue EagleBum

• Trad Bowhunter
Osage Board bow question
« on: January 11, 2010, 05:56:00 AM »
I want to build a board bow out of osage and boo. The question I have is with the osage do you have to follow the growth ring when making a board bow. I would like to have a decent size rizer/handle area, with the arrow rest cut into the bow.

Although some of this may sound out of the ordinary, I am slowly learning bowyer language. I built an osage longbow for my son a few years back, with limited bowyer information. Pics to follow today, hopefully.

I have been woodworking for over 14 years, and have a great desire to build my own bow or bows, and to hunt with them. So, I will probably have lots of questions.

Thanks, Wes
Step lightly, and shoot a trad bow.

Offline Blue EagleBum

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Osage Board bow question
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 06:09:00 AM »
A little further info here. The one I would like to build is like canshooter's #2 boo backed oak.

Also, at this point I do not know what my draw length is for a trad bow. My is 29" for my compo..., well I hate tyo say the word, but I think we all know what I'm talking about. I believe my draw length will be shorter.

Should I just draw back one of my friends trad bows, to a confortable anchor, and measure with a yard stick. Or is there a better way?

Offline Shaun

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 07:30:00 AM »
Wes, you do not need to follow a growth ring because you have the bamboo as a backing. The reason for following a growth ring on an unbacked bow is so that the continuous ring acts as the backing. Most bamboo backed osage (BBO) bows use quarter sawed osage - that is the growth rings are perpendicular to the backing. Dean Torges' book and video on bamboo backed bows is a great resource. Find it at bowyersedge.com

Offline Dean Marlow

• Trad Bowhunter