Author Topic: Kids board bow  (Read 993 times)

Offline finsfletches

• Trad Bowhunter
Kids board bow
« on: February 13, 2010, 10:46:00 AM »
I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight on building a kids board bow for my nephews who are four and seven years old?Dimensions would be great!
Any help would be appreciated greatly.

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Kids board bow
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 11:18:00 AM »
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2010, 11:20:00 AM »
Another option

Dean Torges\\' "Building Rattan Kids\\' Bows"  

I can ship you a piece of rattan that will make 2 bows.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline finsfletches

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2010, 12:42:00 PM »
Thank You John for this info.It will help greatly.This is my first time posting a question on this sight and I can not believe how fast the response was.I am new to traditional archery and I am very interested in making my own bows so this probably will not be my last question and I can see the people on this sight are more than willing to help.
Thank You again.

Offline monterey

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2010, 02:12:00 PM »
Here are a couple pics of bows I made for grandkids and kids of friends.

These are made with 1/4" X 2" X 48"  oak slats that you can pick up at home depot or Lowes.  The risers are made of the same size poplar wood and are shaped by sawing out the sight window and shaping with a drum sander and files.  Could use oak for the handles too but the poplar is much easier to work with.

The limbs are cut to a pyramid shape which precludes the need to tiller.  I have tried many variations on backing and found that paper grocery bags work as well as anything and of course are inexpensive.

Titebond III works fine for all the glue up, handles and backing.