Author Topic: Bowyers needed for build along FINISHED thanks all  (Read 2101 times)

Offline Joshua Lee

• Trad Bowhunter
Bowyers needed for build along FINISHED thanks all
« on: February 24, 2010, 02:29:00 PM »
I have embarked on building my first longbow.  I ordered most of the supplies from bingham's.  The laminations are osage with action boo core and covered in fiberglass?  I'm not sure of the thickness of the lams.  It will become apparent that I'm new to this but I'm very excited to get rolling.  For the riser I bought a chunk of figured shedua.  The bow is going to be 68", 60#s at 28#(hopefully) straight longbow.  I have built the heatbox (per RGK) and the riser, and I'm about to build the lamination press (the kind with the Rubber tube clamps). So my first question is about building the press.  I do not have a joiner and want to make the board on the back of the bow square, level and perfect.  Also I was wondering what the best material is to place between the back of the bow and the board or if it is necessary.  One more question.. is there a good way to keep the lams from slipping when pressing them?  Thanks to everyone on this forum it has been fantastic to read all the bowyer information.  
I'm having trouble posting pics of hotbox and riser any help there would be great as well.
"Success is not final
Failure is not fatal
It is the courage to continue that counts"
Churchill

Offline Joshua Lee

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bowyers needed for build along FINISHED thanks all
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 04:13:00 PM »
I figured out the pictures..

"Success is not final
Failure is not fatal
Churchill

Offline Apex Predator

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2010, 05:15:00 PM »
Drill a hole on the edge of some large fender washers.  Secure them to critical points along the edge of your form.  I like them towards the end of my riser fades and then near the tips.  Swivel them up to keep your parts from sliding around.