Author Topic: Info wanted on lung problems from wood dust  (Read 588 times)

Offline Pembine

• Trad Bowhunter
Info wanted on lung problems from wood dust
« on: March 15, 2010, 11:17:00 PM »
I am an amateur bowyer and have developed a serious lung problem that my doctors can't explain. My symptoms include reoccuring pneumonia, wheezing, coughing up excess mucus, fevers, and some weight loss. I'm currently working with ebony, purpleheart, osage orange, and redheart. If anyone else has had similar problems, or has any info to share I would really appreciate it. I'm desperate!

Offline Don Stokes

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Info wanted on lung problems from wood dust
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 01:54:00 AM »
Pembine, you've got to stop breathing that dust! My brother got very sick from breathing wood dust, and it can be very bad. Some species are particularly toxic to our lungs. My unprofessional opinion is that you should take a break until it clears up, and then be very careful. Always wear a dust mask.
Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.- Ben Franklin

Offline Apex Predator

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 05:35:00 AM »
Did you tell your doctor about your exotic wood snorting habit?   :)   Some of them are no joke!
I didn't claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegetables!

Offline Jeremy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2010, 09:00:00 AM »
Osage irritates my lungs almost as bad as cocobolo dust!

The more oil the wood has, the more common allergic reactions are to it. Even if the wood doesn't have toxins that will effect you directly (and many do), they ALL have substances that you can become sensitized too.

You working with fiberglass too?  Fiberglass dust will do some serious damage as well!

Buy a good respirator!`
>>>-TGMM Family Of The Bow-->
CT CE/FS Chief Instructor