Author Topic: bow kits  (Read 499 times)

Offline cohutta orange

• Trad Bowhunter
bow kits
« on: April 30, 2010, 01:50:00 AM »
Hey everyone I haven't posted in a while but I've been reading a lot. I just wanna say thanks for what everyone is giving me. I've made self bows since i was 8, still a pup ( im 25), but ive learned so much from everyone here. Ive got a question about the longbow kits you see on ****. Are they any good? Im a carpenter so I can work with wood, but still apprehensive. any help?
Shoot straight and keep the heads keen

Offline cohutta orange

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: bow kits
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2010, 01:51:00 AM »
By the way sorry about the long post.

Offline b.glass

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2010, 08:29:00 AM »
Heck that's not long! I don't know about the kits you are talking about. But you should check out the sponsors. I haven't tried them myself but if I did I would go with Dryad or Three Rivers Archery. They would be there for ya if you had any questions or trouble.
B.Glass, aka Mom, aka Longbowwoman
Gregory R. Glass Feb. 14th, 1989-April 1st, 2007; Forever 18.
TGMM Family of The Bow
Mark 5:36 "Don't be afraid, just believe".

Offline Innocente

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2010, 10:27:00 AM »
i bought a coupla longbow kits from bingham's, worked out pretty good. the tiny cans of smooth on (pint size?) were barely enough to finish the one bow, which pissed me off enough to buy a couple of big cans.  (and now i have so much smooth on i heat-epoxy everything i can think of.  little jimmy broke a plate? TIME FOR SMOOTH ON!)

Offline R.W.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2010, 01:40:00 PM »
Dryad sells both 'glass laminated, and all wood laminated "bow blanks."

The quality is excellent, and they stand behind their products.

Can't go wrong with the Dryad's, IMOHO.

They also supply a DVD how-to with the wood laminated bow blank.

R.W.

Offline bigcountry

• Trad Bowhunter