Author Topic: Firewood? Maybe,,,, maybe not! (NOT! See Finished Pics)  (Read 939 times)

Offline Osagetree

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Firewood? Maybe,,,, maybe not! (NOT! See Finished Pics)
« on: July 04, 2010, 10:15:00 PM »
:archer2:    

I had the best of intentions this weekend to partially fulfill a couple promises to trade with some others a couple of osage self bows.

So, Saturday morning I picked through my stash of staves and found a stave the length for one of the bows I needed to get started on making. I figured I needed to get started on one of the bows promised.

The stave was 4" wide with the bark on and was 61 1/2" long. I needed a 60" bow. It was Just right! Even had good rings!!!

The stave had a big black limb knot on the belly side about mid limb but other than that the stave was long enough, plenty wide enough, it had great rings but did have a bit of prop twist to it,,, no problem right!!

As my luck goes lately, something was bound to go wrong.

As I studied the stave I did notice some vetical splits along the side on the outsides of the stave.

The splits along the sides of the stave looked pretty deep but I figured I had a 4" width to work with,,, no problem,,, right? That is what I thought, so I went ahead and stripped off all the bark and whitewood.

It has been about 6 months since I've done that much yanking on the drawknife. My hands were a bit sore and I felt a blister starting to pop up on the side of one finger. Besides that it was getting really hot in the shed.

I then decided to take a little break and I got in a little payback on that osage whitewood that had worked me a little too hard.

Not only were there some checking and splitting along the sides of this stave but also a bit of checking caused by drying on the end of the stave.

No problem,,, I'll just go a bit below the checks to find a good solid ring,,, no problem at all, right?