Author Topic: Can Drae Weight be REDUCED by a Sanding and Refinishing Project?  (Read 307 times)

Offline Nala

• Trad Bowhunter
Hey all,

I have a 70 or 71 Grizzly that I got for XMAS last year and it's a SPECIAL bow for me because my mom get it for me.  Naturally I wouldn't want to do anything that might compromise the integrity of the bow.

The problems I have with it aren't very bad at all.  The limbs are in great shape, no stress cracks or lines, no separation anywhere and the overall finish on the limbs is shiny and looks great.  The only thing is that there are marks on both the back and the belly where a previous owner used one of the spring arm type quivers and it left a few unattractive marks that I would like to get rid of.

As for the riser, its in good shape too.  It could stand a slight sanding to smooth things out and get the surface uniform and I think it would be a MUCH prettier bow if that was done.  The thing is that I have never done anything like that before and it would be S-L-O-W going for me in a project like this.

The reason for my original question about reducing the draw weight is becuse despite being marked 45X, it is MUCH heaver than that.  I am guessing near 50 or so.  Since I draw to about 29 1/2 inches, that's a lot of extra (and uncomfortable) weight for me.  If it really 45#, I'd leave it alone and enjoy it the way it is.

But if you all tell me that I can reduce the draw weight a few pounds if I do one of these REHAB projects on it, well I just might have to give it a LOT more thought than I have been.

I really don't want to refinish an entire bow unless it needs it or there is another goal trying to be achieved.  Sure if there was a method to remove the spring arm quiver marks on the limbs and it was relatively painless and not too difficult, I would probably do that.