Author Topic: Bore killed ash  (Read 405 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

• Trad Bowhunter
Bore killed ash
« on: July 20, 2010, 02:52:00 PM »
Hey guys, I got ahold of some ash that was killed by emerald ash bore. It has some surface bug damage but I can chase a ring underneath the damage. Is wood killed by emerald ash bore still suitable for making a self bow?
I tried making one right after it was cut but it broke. I assume it was because the wood was still wet because I went right from bark on log to bow in bout two days assuming it to be dry because it had been dead for awhile.

Offline mater

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bore killed ash
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 03:37:00 PM »
Ive been splitting some for firewood. Its full of bugs/holes all the way through it. I cant imagine you could make a selfbow with all that damage. But Im no selfbow expert.  Mark

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 03:56:00 PM »
Depends.  I'd guess there was some decay if it was cut dead.  Whitewoods rot pretty quickly.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Don Stokes

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2010, 08:01:00 PM »
BURN THAT WOOD!!!

The emerald ash borer is devastating the ash trees throughout the north central US, centered around Michigan where they got started, and is spreading in spite of quarantines. It has now reached the east coast, and has been found as far west as Missouri and as far south as Kentucky. If they're not stopped, these imported bugs will kill every ash tree in the United States. ALL infected ash wood should be burned immediately. The grubs that make the holes can mature into adult beetles that fly to the nearest ash tree and kill it, too.

DON'T USE IT! BURN IT, RIGHT NOW!!