Author Topic: Got Osage and Hickory, what next?  (Read 520 times)

Offline SteveL

• Trad Bowhunter
Got Osage and Hickory, what next?
« on: September 23, 2010, 04:34:00 PM »
I was going to build a pyramid bow per the instructions posted by 4est trekker, but can't find a suitable piece of red oak. So I bought an osage board and a piece of hickory backing.

The osage is 9/16" x2" x 72" and the hickory is 3/16 inches thick.

This will be my first wood bow so I want to build something kind of simple yet functional enough to hunt with.

I was thinking that given the qualities of osage I could still follow 4est's pyramid bow directions but still use the 2" width. Do you guys think this OK?

Or are there better styles I should consider since I'm a rank beginner - an excited beginner!

Any insights and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Offline Stiks-n-Strings

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Got Osage and Hickory, what next?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2010, 10:08:00 PM »
If I could get my hands on a good osage board I would build a boo backed osage. I would think that 2" wide would give you a pretty stout bow.

you can probably go 1.5" wide pyramid style I guess. But 2" is to much in my opinion. Osage is alot better bow wood than oak. and the specs in 4est's build along are for oak and these specs keep it in a safe range for a working bow.
Striker stinger 58" 55# @ 28
any wood bow I pick off the rack.
 2 Cor. 10:4
 TGMM Family of The Bow
 MK, LLC Shareholder
Proud Member of the Twister Twelve

Offline John Cooper

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2010, 10:30:00 PM »