Author Topic: I should introduce myself  (Read 270 times)

Offline moosemoose

• Trad Bowhunter
I should introduce myself
« on: October 28, 2010, 08:32:00 AM »
Hello everyone my name is Jeff Forman and I live in Mason (central) Texas.  I work for the wildlife division of Texas Parks and Wildlife on one of the state's wildlife management areas.  My job description contains the words "wildlife management and research in the field"  and I love my work.  

I started shooting bows in the early 80's one of my college buddies sold me his worn out Darton compound and some bent arrows for way more than they were worth and my love for flinging arrows began.  Of course hunting whitetails and jackrabbits soon followed.  Compounds and their accessories were prone to mechanical failure back then and a hunting buddy traded a Bear recurve for my compound... good trade!   I had absolutely no idea how to shoot instictively but I had fun shooting and before long I had acquired some consistant accuracy.  The Bear Grizzly I had obtained in that trade finally broke a limb and I purchased a Martin hunter brand new for $114 dollars they are over $400 now unbelievable.  I began shooting 3-D archery tournaments and involved the family in my passion and really shot arrows every day of the year for several years either hunting, practicing or at a 3-D tournament.