Author Topic: bamboo and glass???  (Read 265 times)

Offline Loren Holland

• Trad Bowhunter
bamboo and glass???
« on: November 09, 2010, 11:57:00 AM »
I made a 68" form for a fairly aggressive r/d. I sandwiched a zebra riser between two bamboo slats for a core, using URAC 185.  The intent was to see if there was any adjustment that needed to be made (i really thought it would be heavier, and need a bit of tillering)and then go back and glue on raw bamboo backing and belly.  I have never done this before so I am totally guessing at all dimensions and thickness.  The width is just under 2" at the widest point and tapers to about 3/4" tips ( i went a little wide for stability, like a recurve for stringing, since the r/d was aggressive). The two lams are a little under 1/4" each. I didn't know what to expect and was really surprised at how well the the two bamboo slats hold the forms shape. I was surprised at how evenly the limbs bend in there present configuration, yet they pull about 10-12 lbs.

I don't know what to do next.  I was originally going to make an all bamboo, but am concerned that i will end up with a light poundage bow. Does anyone have a good guess how much poundage i will gain with a raw boo back and belly?

I thought about just glueing on glass, since you can cure URAC without baking it.

Then I thought that I really want the look of all bamboo.  So here is the question I haven't seen on this site yet. What would happen if glued up glass over the boo core, and then raw boo over that?  It would give the look of all boo. I am sure it would be a monster pull, right? (or would it, would the glass just overpower the boo? would it delam? just don't know if its worth the expreiment.)  Has anyone done this?

Offline Dick in Seattle

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: bamboo and glass???
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 12:40:00 PM »