Author Topic: Kids bow backing?  (Read 274 times)

Offline TroutGuide

• Trad Bowhunter
Kids bow backing?
« on: December 08, 2010, 06:38:00 PM »
I just finished my first self bow.  It is hickory about 35 inches long with a 15 inch draw.  It is realy light but my son is 3.  I would like to add a little draw weight though and was wondering what simple thing I could do to add some strength and increase the draw weight slightly.  Should I mess with it or just take it for what it is.
Brian Harris
"I rarely ever give a definate answer about hunting or fishing."  Me

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Kids bow backing?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 06:50:00 PM »
Im no expert. But Im guessing 10-15# is enough for him. How much does it pull now? You could always take an inch or so off the length to get some more poundage.

Offline vanillabear?

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2010, 06:56:00 PM »

Offline hova

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2010, 09:24:00 PM »
this is the sort of thing that makes me wonder if a furniture veneer would stiffen it up a little...

-hov
ain't got no gas in it...mmmhmmm...

Offline TroutGuide

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2010, 10:50:00 PM »
I was wondering if you could use the veneer tape they sell at lumber yard for a simple backing.

Or where else could I conveniently obtain an inexpensive backing strip that would add safety and draw weight.
Brian Harris

Offline TroutGuide

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2010, 10:51:00 PM »
I am just guessing but I think the DW is about 5-8lb.
Brian Harris

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2010, 11:11:00 PM »
I'd leave it the way it is and make another when he outgrows this one. I'm sure you could find another kid to give this bow to when the time comes.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline hova

• Trad Bowhunter