Author Topic: recurve tipform build-a-long  (Read 843 times)

Offline broketooth

• Trad Bowhunter
recurve tipform build-a-long
« on: January 27, 2011, 06:48:00 PM »
this is my first attempt at a recurve tip form.i started out with some leftover birch plywood from a previous project. its is 6 3/16" wide rips following the grain. i used my speed square to make a 20 degree mark from the bottom of the plywood. i also used a coffee can that measures 6 3/16' in diameter.i lined up the can with the top and bottom edges of the rip and slid the can to the 20 degree mark and traced the radius from the mark to the top of the sheet. here are some pics. i made the cuts with my table say my chop saw and a jig saw.  the radius cut with the jigsaw i cut a touch big we will clean this up with a sander. . i used my table saw because it has a cast iron machined surface to be perfectly flat. i made sure that all machined surfaces where square with a cobination square.
" you have done well to keep your hair when so many are after it"

Offline broketooth

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: recurve tipform build-a-long
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2011, 06:55:00 PM »
the next step was to fasten all the peices together i used 1 1/4" cource thread sheetrock screws. i counter sunk them to make sure they grabbed alll the material. . after that i took my speed square and found the apex of the arc and made a 45 degree line intersecting the apex to the meaty prtion of the form. i did this so i could make a notch in the form to accept a c-clamp so i could clamp the peice im bending at the apex of the curve.

Offline broketooth

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 07:02:00 PM »