Author Topic: Looking for critique on tillering  (Read 510 times)

Offline dinorocks

• Trad Bowhunter
Looking for critique on tillering
« on: February 02, 2011, 04:45:00 PM »
Now that deer season is over, I have been very busy finishing up some selfbows projects.  To take a quick step back, I am relatively new to bow making; I have made a few bows from blanks for me and my kids.  The bows below were made from staves (the black cherry were trees that I cut and split).  After 4 years of hunting exclusively with a selfbow (and arrows) that I made myself, this year was the first year I harvested deer (two – doe and buck)… I have been trying to position myself for the "perfect" shot.

If possible, can you provide some constructive feedback on the bows below?

Black Cherry (back is sapwood and handle contains some heart wood…beautiful wood!)
36# at 26”, 70 ½” nock to nock, 1 7/8” fade, 5/8” tip.  After reading all I could find on cherry bows, I decided to make this bow long, wide, and light in an effort not to have it break (I was hoping not to have to back the bow…although backing it with cherry bark would be kind of cool).  I dubbed this bow complete and started sealing it with Formby's tung oil.

Black Cherry  – I got my brother excited to make a selfbow but he got a little rasp happy and I needed to make some adjustments for him.
I have not strung this bow…still in tillering stage.  I have been trying to avoid a hinge near the handle so I’m a bit wary to brace the bow just yet.

We would like to get 45# at 26’ish”.  The length is 63 ¼” nock to nock, 1 5/8” fade, 3/4” tip.  I’m still trying to flatten out the belly…the rasp has thinned the edges of the limb near the handle…I may need to tweak the bow dimensions (I’m winging it as I have no clue on proper fade/length/tip ratios).

The last bow is an Osage bow (I’m not skilled with power tools and ended up “bottle-necking” one of the limbs when I was using a bandsaw…a friend helped me even it off).