Author Topic: Taper rate & Riser lenght Hill style bow ?  (Read 542 times)

Online PV

• Trad Bowhunter
Taper rate & Riser lenght Hill style bow ?
« on: February 06, 2011, 03:18:00 AM »
Picked up a hot box and a straight inner tube form from a friend.Been collecting dust in his shop for the last 20 years.

I've never built a straight or "D" glass bow before and I'm lookng for a starting point for a:

66" NTN, Aboo lams for some string follow, hopefully not too much,straight side taper fades to nocks.

Suggestions on taper rate and riser lenght greatly apprieciated

Paul

Offline jsweka

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Taper rate & Riser lenght Hill style bow ?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2011, 04:42:00 AM »
In the ones I've built, I've used 3 parallel lams and one 0.002 taper. 16" riser. My form is perfectly straight but after stringing and shooting the bow for a while I end up with just a touch of string follow.  It's really not noticeable unless you hold the bow up to your eye and sight down the edge of the limbs.
>>>---->TGMM<----<<<<

Online PV

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2011, 12:49:00 PM »
Thanks John.. What material are you using for core lams?

Offline bjansen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2011, 03:53:00 PM »
On my hill I used .005 per inch taper, 16" riser, 66" NTN.  1.05" at the fades down to slightly less than 1/2" right before the nocks.  The butt thickness of my lamination stack was .590" and achieved 57# @ 28".  My form has 3/4" of backset in it..and if you used a straight form I am guessing this same lamination stack would get you 3# less (just a guess).

Good luck

Online PV

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2011, 06:01:00 PM »
Thats a fair bit of taper Brad.How far out from the fades do your limb start bending ?

Offline bjansen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2011, 07:19:00 PM »