Author Topic: Twisted tips-What Now  (Read 257 times)

Offline northland archer

• Trad Bowhunter
Twisted tips-What Now
« on: February 12, 2011, 10:04:00 PM »
For all of you advanced self bow makers- can a finished bow with twisted tips be heat treated back so the string lines up better?  I am a beginner at best but hate to see a buddys bow go to the fire.  Any direction or help would be great.
Teach a child about Christ...then the bow.

Offline DVSHUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Twisted tips-What Now
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 10:30:00 PM »
If wood was removed unequally from one side then heat alone will probably not help you, but if the sides are the same thickness and even then yes you can get it out with dry heat. Over correct the twist and hold it there until cool to the touch.
"There is a natural mystic flowing through the air; if you listen carefully now you will hear." Bob Marley

Offline George Tsoukalas

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 10:58:00 PM »
How many degrees of twist? Jawge

Offline northland archer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 04:22:00 PM »
I will have to see just how even the thickness is.  I suppose it is worth a try to straighten, over time it will break.  I will take a look at the tips, i don't think they are too bad.  Thanks

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2011, 06:12:00 PM »
It all depends on how it shoots whether or not I would mess with it and how bad the twist is.
If the twist isn't super bad and the bow shoots fine like it is, then I wouldn't mess with it.
But if the string is way off to one side and it doesn't shoot consistently well, then I would try to get some of it out before I trashed it.