Author Topic: One Thing Led To Another - ALL DONE -  (Read 435 times)

Offline matts2

• Trad Bowhunter
One Thing Led To Another - ALL DONE -
« on: February 24, 2011, 12:48:00 AM »
Last week I started my second board bow.  Everything was going great and I was getting excited.  Well I am a total rookie at all this and made a big mistake.  I got a bit too aggressive during tillering.  So my goal 45# bow all of the sudden turned into a 25# bow.  I had thoughts of making a kids bow out of it, but I decided I wanted to try and fix it.  After a few conversations with bjansen, I decided to add a lam of 1/8" hedge on the belly.  So again, Brad steps up and after some trading, I have a couple great hedge lams from his shop.  Thanks again Brad.  I will get you a couple calls done up soon.

Well I got the lams, but I have a couple problems.  Need a way to clamp them on.  So I built a form.  I wanted to heat the glue.  So I built an oven.  Oh ya, I needed glue.  So I had to order some Smooth-on.  But the bow needed some changes first.

The transition to the riser was a bit steep for that 1/8" hedge, so I figured I would fill it in a bit.  I found some scrap laying around and added it in there to increase the radius so the lam wouldn't have to bend so much.

Now that is filled in and the hedge makes the bend no problem.  Well, whats next?  I think I will make an oven.

Not wanted to spend a lot of money on plywood and such, I took the cheap route.  Picked up one sheet of 1" foil backed foam and built a partial box.  Its 16" x 16" x 80" with one whole side open.  It is glued, screwed and taped with foil tape.  Its pretty solid and sits over top the form and heat lamps on a table.  

Matt

Offline matts2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: One Thing Led To Another - ALL DONE -
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 12:49:00 AM »