3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: elk hunting  (Read 1154 times)

Offline frank the hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
elk hunting
« on: February 18, 2008, 03:46:00 PM »
hi everyone i am going on my first elk hunt.wood you take a 30 yard shoot with a 50 pound long bow. i shoot out to 30 yard will, but dont no if it wii kill that far.i am new to trad started about 7 mounts ago. i took a doe at about 25 yards this past hunting season. thank you guys & have a great day.

Offline Brian Krebs

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: elk hunting
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 04:45:00 PM »
Frank
   If your arrow is shooting straight; not off to one side or the other; or hitting up or down- then your bow will be fine with 30 yard shots.
 Make sure your broadheads are super sharp; and your bow tuned ( by adjusting the string nock and the spine of the arrow) so that the arrow shoots like a dart; and you should do OK.
 If your bugling elk; or cow calling them in; you might get more 15 yard shots or less- then you think.
 Congratulations on your deer !
THE VOICES HAVEN'T BOTHERED ME SINCE I STARTED POKING THEM WITH A Q-TIP.

Offline frank the hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 05:08:00 PM »
thank you brian for the help. i shoot 19/16 with weight tubes with 125 broad head.i bear shot then & they go weight next to  the fleathed arroes & straight.

Offline steadman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2008, 06:04:00 PM »
Frank, to add to Brian, with that lower poundage I would suggest a 2 blade. On a quartering shot, elk are thick animals. Good luck and congrats on your deer.
" Just concentrate and don't freak out next time" my son Tyler(age 7) giving advise after watching me miss a big mulie.

Offline Dave2old

• Trad Bowhunter