Author Topic: Red Osier Arrow Question  (Read 367 times)

Offline JO_EZ

• Trad Bowhunter
Red Osier Arrow Question
« on: March 07, 2011, 01:30:00 PM »
I cut about a half a dozen shoots off of a red osier bush in our hedge and started debarking them for arrows. I noticed that in order to get a shoot that was about 34" long, the fat end was as big around as my thumb and the skinny end was too skinny to put a nock in for either a head or to nock on the string.

Is this normal for dog wood? I expected to have to do some work to get the diameter down, but not that much. Perhaps, finding a bigger patch of dog wood and being more selective is what I need to do...
I started shooting a longbow because I thought it would simplify things and it did... now I simply need to get a whole lot closer to hit anything.

Work'n when I have to, fish'n when I can...

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Red Osier Arrow Question
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 02:40:00 PM »
For the butt end you may have to use a thumb plane to reduce the diameter. How small is the small end on your shoots. You should be able to put a nock in a shaft that is 1/4" in diameter and especially if you wrap the shaft below the nock.
  What is your draw length and why a 34" arrow? Generally there wouldn't be that much taper but I have see it like that.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline JO_EZ

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 03:00:00 PM »
Pat,
I have a 28"(ish) draw length. I didn't intend to leave them 34" long. Some of the tips are less than 1/4" - skinnier than a pencil.

I was just supprised at the amount of taper in the shoots and wondered if other folks found the same thing and if they did alot of messing around to get the sides paralell.

Thanks,
Doyle
I started shooting a longbow because I thought it would simplify things and it did... now I simply need to get a whole lot closer to hit anything.

Offline No-sage