Author Topic: "Little Shaver" Bow Question  (Read 657 times)

Offline Shakes.602

• Trad Bowhunter
"Little Shaver" Bow Question
« on: March 11, 2011, 10:24:00 PM »
Am making a Bow for My Grandaughters 3rd Birthday! I found a Nice little piece of hickory that has some Good Rings in it!! Ex-Broom Handle, I think. Anywho, question about Limb Thickness for her. She is Pretty Strong for a Little Girl, I figure I would, Might start with 1/2 thick limbs? 3/8?   :confused:  
  I have NO experience, and time is of the essence as MAY is Fast Approaching for a Slow Poke Like Me!! I figure 26" long straight longbow, since she is all of 36" tall!!  :readit:    :thumbsup:
"Carpe Cedar" Seize the Arrow!
"Life doesn't get Simpler; it gets Shorter and Turns in Smaller Circles." Dean Torges
"Faith is to Prayer what the Feather is to the Arrow" Thomas Morrow
"Ah Think They Should Outlaw Them Thar Crossbows" A Hunting Pal

Offline CaptainJ

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: "Little Shaver" Bow Question
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 10:58:00 PM »
Do yourself a favor and make that bow 36" long.
She'll be holding it in the middle anyway so it will still stay above her knees when she shoots it.
I would start it at 3/4" wide tapered to 3/8" from mid-limb to tip and use pin nocks. Starting at 1/2" thick and tillering to around 10# @ 18".
She'll be able to use that now and grow into it some.

CJ

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2011, 02:06:00 PM »
Hardywaymike and I built one for his 3 yr old last weekend. It was 36" long, 1" wide and thickness tapered from about 3/8 to just under a 1/4". I marked half way up each limb and narrowed the width to about 5/16" wide at the tips. It turned out 15# @ 18" if I remember right. Chime in if Im off ont dim's Mike.

Offline hardwaymike

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2011, 03:32:00 PM »