Author Topic: Bamboo/Osage Project Follow Along **Complete W/Pics**  (Read 2491 times)

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
Bamboo/Osage Project Follow Along **Complete W/Pics**
« on: April 11, 2011, 08:02:00 AM »
I'm not calling this a build along because this is my first time working with bamboo. If I had experience and success with this type of build then I may feel confident enough to say build along with me, but I don't. Not yet anyway.

So this is more of a follow along and if you like what you see and want to try this the way I'm doing it, feel free to do so at your own risk.

Comments and advice welcome, play nice.    :D  

This is what I started with and this Osage blank was an original splice in the handle, then I added the Oak overlays on the back and belly. It wasn't until I got a good deal on some bamboo that I decided to go ahead and back this spliced bow blank. So that's what I started with.

I flattened the back off as much as I possibly could to make a nice even glue surface for the bamboo backing. I removed almost all of the white oak lam on the back side of the handle area while doing so. The boo that I'm using is right there next to it and hasn't been flattened yet.

To be continued..................
~Varitas Vos Liberabit~ John 8:32

Offline Living_waters

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bamboo/Osage Project Follow Along **Complete W/Pics**
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 09:06:00 AM »
Dang dude you let them get to ya...... You cleaned up how can you do a follow along and find the tools you need for it LOL

Seriously that is some big bamboo, what I ordered was decent but not nearly that big. After thinning you should have a pretty uniform backing.
"Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.'” Jesus

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 09:49:00 AM »