Author Topic: Reducing Old Selfbow Poundage???  (Read 290 times)

Offline Scioto

• Trad Bowhunter
Reducing Old Selfbow Poundage???
« on: April 23, 2011, 08:36:00 AM »
Just a quick question.  I have a 52# osage selfbow that I have been shooting for about the past 10 years. Lately, the poundage seems a bit heavier than I would like, and I would like to shave 5-6#'s off the belly and refinish.  Can I safely do this without screwing it up or causing any additional set?  Thanks for any input!

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Reducing Old Selfbow Poundage???
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2011, 08:40:00 AM »
Piece of cake. You will need a tiller board or tree, a good scraper, a set of scales and of course refinishing stuff. How long and wide is the bow?

Offline Scioto

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2011, 09:20:00 AM »
The bow is 62" ntn and 1 1/4" wide at mid limb.  I am just concerned that the weight reduction will cause the wood to take on additional set. I have never attempted this before.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2011, 09:27:00 AM »
The wood removal will VERY minimal to take 5-6# off, very minimal. Set comes from overstressed/underexercised wood during tillering. If you scrape 8-10 equal amounts off each limb and exercise it well until you reach your target weight, the bow will look no differently than it does now. If you have never done any bow building I would suggest leaving it alone, or maybe get with somebody that has to help you through it. Its a simple process and very quick, but if you dont really know what your looking for it can get away from you quickly.

Online glenbo

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2011, 09:27:00 AM »
Take it nice and slow with a sharp scraper as Pearl Drums suggested.I would reccomend a tillering gizmo to keep things even.After I saw one on the bowyers bench I easily made one.So simple but pure genius.Good luck,glen

Offline frank bullitt