Author Topic: A little tiller help please  (Read 328 times)

Offline k-hat

• Trad Bowhunter
A little tiller help please
« on: May 02, 2011, 12:40:00 AM »
This is my first time to tiller a bow that is already reflexed, so i'm being overcautious I'm sure.  It's a 68 inch hickory bow based on "the perfect bow" in TBB1.  I heat-gunned in about 1.25 inches of reflex after floor tiller and it's been sitting just over a week (been real humid here!).  First pic is at rest, the second and third are at about 30 lbs. I'm aiming for 50 so it'll settle in at about 40-45 after done and shot in.
I'm thinking the limb on the left is a little stiffer, but is it too soon to start removing wood?    

Hope you don't mind tilting your head, or your screen   :D

Thanks guys!
Kevin

"he hath bent his bow, and made it ready . . .his arrow shall go forth as the lightning" - Psalm 7:12, Zech. 9:14

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: A little tiller help please
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 10:07:00 AM »
I think you need to get her bending a bit more to see how she is actually bending. Stay away fron the near handle area and remove wood in long strokes from the rest of each limb. Take about 20 strokes of the scraper on each limb, exercise the limbs 20 to 30 pulls and see where she is then. At this point you still have plenty of "meat" to work with.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline k-hat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 10:44:00 AM »
Thanks Pat, i was hoping you'd chime in!  that's what i was thinking, but i just wanted to be sure before proceeding.  As said, i'm a little nervous because of the already reflexed limbs.  I usually reflex later in the process.  Thanks again, I'll repost later in the process.
Kevin

"he hath bent his bow, and made it ready . . .his arrow shall go forth as the lightning" - Psalm 7:12, Zech. 9:14

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter