Author Topic: Following the growth lines  (Read 358 times)

Offline Loa

• Trad Bowhunter
Following the growth lines
« on: May 07, 2011, 12:31:00 PM »
Hello,

First post here, already enjoying the great info I've found!

I'm a novice bowyer, and up to now I've made 4, ash, self-bows in the flatbow style. Each time I followed the Bowyer's Bible advice: the back of my bows always follow a single growth ring. I've yet to break a bow with this method, and my bows (ranging from 27# to 40#) shoot very well.

The only problem is finding the perfect boards. I've made only four bows so far because I've only managed to find 4 such board.

What do you guys think: just how important is it to have a single growth ring on the back of a self-bow?

Thanks

Loa

Offline SourOwl

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Following the growth lines
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 12:55:00 PM »
LOA - that's a question thats been a topic of bowyers for centuries;  and the answer is best handled in "generalities".  generally, its better to follow one growth ring.   some woods will perform well without doing this, but all woods perform better if you do.  Generally, a bow that is backed with a material with stretching and protecting qualities will allow violated growth rings better.  

Myself, I follow the growth rings.  never had a bow blow up on me.   Your friend, sourowl.
SourOwl

Offline Loa

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 01:31:00 PM »
Hello,

Thanks for your input, SourOwl. I've never had a bow blow on me either, even my first, and I'd like to keep it that way! :-D

On the other hand, unless I'm willing to go out, find and fell a foot thick ash tree (something I don't know how to do safely!), I'm stuck with my lumberyard. I've found 4 such perfect boards in about 7-8 visits, since last year.

4 boards in a year is quite limited!

Loa

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 02:31:00 PM »