Author Topic: Can we hash this out? neg vs pos tiller***Clarification  (Read 958 times)

Offline k-hat

• Trad Bowhunter
Can we hash this out? neg vs pos tiller***Clarification
« on: May 30, 2011, 10:59:00 AM »
I'm a new bowyer so i'm no expert at all on this issue, but i've seen in come up in past posts with a lot of "this is what you do" but no "i tried that, and it screwed up my bow" or any evidential remarks.  Most guys on here advocate positive tiller (lower limb stiffer than upper).  Has anyone tried it the other way around?  I would normally go with what the experienced guys say, but it's not making sense with my physics teacher brain and what i've read elsewhere.  I know Dean Torges is highly respected in bowyer circles, and he has some interesting things to say about this issue here:

http://www.bowyersedge.com/organic.html  

I would like to know what y'all think about what he says here, but ESPECIALLY about any experiences tillering this way.  And if i'm simply misunderstanding Dean, then please by all means tell me that too!      :knothead:  

****See post below for my proposed solution and experimental results    :)
Kevin

"he hath bent his bow, and made it ready . . .his arrow shall go forth as the lightning" - Psalm 7:12, Zech. 9:14

Offline bigcountry

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Can we hash this out? neg vs pos tiller***Clarification
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 11:43:00 AM »
I think your reading it correctly from Dean.

But the big thing is Dean himself told me he always makes his bows with longer top limb up to over 2" he says.  That could be the difference.

My goal is at full draw, for the bow to be balanced in my hands as Dean says.  

Everytime I use a tiller tree to get limbs bending perfectly the same, take off the tiller tree and pull back (with my 3 under draw), it always shows that bottom limb bending much more than top.