Author Topic: Tiller help  (Read 367 times)

Offline Citycop

• Trad Bowhunter
Tiller help
« on: June 22, 2011, 09:30:00 PM »
I have started my inital tiller on my red oak board bow that I am building along with 4est trekker's build-a-long.

How does this look? Do I need to pull it a little further on the long string for the inital tiller? It was hard to get it pulled as far as i did.

Thanks in advance.

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tiller help
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2011, 10:39:00 PM »
Looks pretty thick to me.  Any idea how heavy she is?  I think I'd get her bending some more but shorten that string until it just barely sags.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline eagleone

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2011, 11:12:00 PM »
looks thick to me too- but I'm no expert- weigh it before you pull it any farther-  welcome to the club- watch out- this is an addiction, but you are in good hands here
Wisconsin Traditional Archers

Offline Citycop

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2011, 10:50:00 AM »
I cut the limbs down to 15/32 but I didn't have calipers to check the thickness I just got it as close as I could by touch. I will shorten the string and try to get the weight tonight.

Offline karrow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2011, 02:05:00 PM »
all i can say is just take it slow slow slow. ood luck
Kevin Day

Offline Citycop

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2011, 08:57:00 PM »
I put the bow on my bathroom scale today and it looked like it pulled between 55-60 lbs at about 10".  I tightened the strong up until it sagged just a little.

I'm not sure if I did my tillering tree right or not but I measured down 6" from the seat where the bow sits and then started marking my inch marks from there. Is this right? I read in a book to do it that way.

Offline swtchbckshtr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2011, 09:54:00 PM »