Author Topic: bow limbs twisting  (Read 616 times)

Offline xtreme_ark

• Trad Bowhunter
bow limbs twisting
« on: June 30, 2011, 11:47:00 PM »
Hi everyone. I'm new to the art of bow making and so far it hasn't been very productive. Ill try to let y'all know what my methods are so please let me know if its right or wrong!  I'm starting off with red oak board (I know not the best wood to use) 1x2x72 in. I'm tryito follow the build along off of poor folk bows. I cut out the basic design with a bandsaw and try to use a spokeshave and drum sander after that so I don't take off too much wood. I made a tillering tree and a bow scale to tiller the bow. I never go over my end draw length or end draw weight. Here is my problem every time I get close to the end of the tiller the limbs start twisting and I Don't mean a little. They are twisting everywhere from 1/8 to 1/4 around. I don't mind a little twist but this is in my opinion too much. What am I doing wrong? Any info would be appreciated or if y'all need more info let me know.

Offline xtreme_ark

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: bow limbs twisting
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 11:54:00 PM »
After reading over my post. It sounded like I made a bow scale. Sorry for that. Its a hand held bow scale from 3 rivers archery.

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2011, 12:10:00 AM »
Check the thickness of the limbs from side to side.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline WestTexan

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2011, 12:20:00 AM »
Not anything wrong with starting with a board matter a fact it's prolly the cheapest way to start and learn how to tiller a bow. Like Pat said side thickness is most likely the problem but if you put a picture up someone can for sure help you out.

Offline k-hat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2011, 12:51:00 AM »