3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Poor archer in need of a little help  (Read 421 times)

Offline electric blues

• Trad Bowhunter
Poor archer in need of a little help
« on: February 21, 2008, 01:42:00 AM »
I see all of these posts of yall with four, five, or more dozens of diffrent fletched arrows and just dream. But im a broke college student and cant really afford to get more and more dozens of arrows and try again. I have Easton Excel Carbons cut at 30". They weigh 8.6 grains an inch, and currently shooting four fletch 5" feathers with 100 grain points/broadhead. This is working good out of my 45# bow, but I want to try hog hunting this year, and I'm very afraid this is not enough to do the job. I beleive with my current setup they are 385 grains all in all, without counting the 4 feathers.

I was thinking of getting a 150 grain broadhead, 4 bladed Sasquach with the bleeders removed most likely, but wasnt sure what size I need my arrows cut. I am also going to refletch them with 3 5" nanners or shields.

I did try putting weight tubes into one of these arrows that i fletched with 3 5" shields, but it was very wobbly with 125 and 100 grains up front. The tubes were 3 grains per inch, but I cant find the tubes, so im estimating they were around 81 grains or so after being cut to fit. With 100 b/h it was 491 grains, and the 125 b/h was 516 grains. I still have leftover uncut tubes though.

Any help would be appreciated. I've already lost a few arrows and cant really afford another batch for a while, so I wanna do the best with what I have. And I'm a litle afraid of trying hogs with an underpowered weapon. Thanks for any help!

Offline Yolla Bolly

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Poor archer in need of a little help