Author Topic: laminate bow questions  (Read 321 times)

Offline wildbill001

• Trad Bowhunter
laminate bow questions
« on: September 09, 2011, 04:39:00 PM »
So now that I've made 3 red-oak board bows, I figure I'm an expert now..   :eek:   Yeah, right!

Anyway, I've finished my thickness sander and am ready to do something with it.  Thought my first project would be a wood laminate bow.  By that I mean ALL wood laminations--no glass.  Which brings me to my questions:

1) Is this do-able or a complete waste of time?  (I've tried searching the forum for answers but will readily admit my "search-fu" is weak.)
2) What would be good wood(s) for the laminations?  I'm kinda partial to hickory and walnut but am open.  
3) Can I do this with Tite-bond III or Gorilla Wood-glue (not the poly stuff)?  Should I just follow the crown and use Smooth-on?
4) How many plys and what thickness if this is do-able?
5) Any good reference material I should get such as URL, particular Bowyer's Bible volume, etc?

Thoughts, suggestions, ideas and even "You're Nuts!    :nono:   " are appreciated.

Bill
"You can tell the pioneers by the arrows in their backs."  -- Unknown

Online wood carver 2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: laminate bow questions
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 06:35:00 PM »
Wildbill001, I recently built my first two successful longbows using bamboo, walnut and bamboo. Glued them together with urac 185 and I can't be any happier with them. If you don't like bamboo there are other combos like ipe, maple, osage and you already mentioned hickory. I,m no expert but there are a lot of very good bowyers here who can give excellent advice.
This is where I learned.
Dave.
" Vegetarian" another word for bad hunter.

Offline okie64

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 06:44:00 PM »
1)Its not a waste of time I've made lots of laminated wood bows.

2)Hickory or bamboo are the best backing and certain woods make better bellies than others. Really the combinations are endless.