Author Topic: Questions on glued in reflex  (Read 291 times)

Offline GentlemanArcher

• Trad Bowhunter
Questions on glued in reflex
« on: December 29, 2011, 11:06:00 AM »
Hi All,

I'm new to making bows.  As an experiment, I thought I'd try gluing in some reflex to a wood bow.  Since I'm sticking with red oak till I feel brave enough to pay more for wood, I used 1/4" thick, 1.5 inch wide pieces from Lowe's.  For the backing, I used poplar in the same dimensions.  Not the best choices of wood, I know, but cheap and available.  Anywho...

72 inches long, 1/2 inch thick riser glued on on belly and 1/4 piece of red oak glued on the front.  I clamped the bow, belly down, and used 3" tall blocks to hold the reflex while the glue set.

The glue set up well and the bow holds its shape nicely (at least eyeballing it).  I used a bandsaw and belt sander to taper the width of the limbs from the rise, down to 1/2 at the tips.  the floor tillering felt ok at this point.

I exercised the bow some and used a long string on my tiller tree.  I'm getting ~20# at 14 inches (with the long string).

Finally we get to the question.  :)

One limb felt heavier at this point.  Using my spring scale, I pulled each tip down 3" and measured several times. One limb is 9 pounds and the other 10.  Since the thickness of the limbs is the same, I measured the width of the limbs at several points.  The weaker limb is the wider limb....

ok, so now, I'm at the question for real....
Shouldn't the wider limb be the stiffer limb????

Question two:
What can I do to get the bow to the draw length, while keeping the final draw weight at around 30#? (Ultimately I'd like to make a pretty and reasonably fast for it's draw weight wood bow for my wife that's around 25# at 26")

I've read that if I remove would from the belly, I'll increase the reflex (which I understand)...but increasing the reflex will also make it harder to reach the draw length won't it?