Author Topic: My bow is stress cracking - What to do?  (Read 632 times)

Offline stinkbelly

• Trad Bowhunter
My bow is stress cracking - What to do?
« on: January 31, 2012, 07:24:00 PM »
My bow that I have been working on for 2 months and I showed you guys yesterday started to stress crack on the belly of the bow.  

I did a final sanding on the bow and began to shoot my 200 arrows at 28" before I stained and sealed it.  After 5 arrows I thought I saw a stress crack.  After 10 arrows I definately saw several stress cracks.  

The cracks on the lower limb are between 7-11 inches from the center of the bow.  The cracks on the upper limb are 6-9 inches from center.  The bow is a red oak with hickory backing.  It is 62" and 39# at 28".

Why is it cracking?  Is there anything I can do?  Is it trashed?  

I can definately feel them by hand.

Upper Limb:

Lower Limb:

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: My bow is stress cracking - What to do?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 07:32:00 PM »
Your bow is probably bending more in those spots causing the compression fractures(frets, cheysals). You can relieve that only by removing wood from either side of the frets so you get a more even bend in the limb. In most cases frets are eventually terminal.
 Will you post a pic of the bow at full draw?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Nim-rod

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 07:53:00 PM »
We never saw a picture of the full draw but looks like improper tillering and it's bending too much in the fretted areas as Pat said. Shooting a bunch of times before finishing shows flaws like this and keeps you form wasting your time on it. With that much cracking it's days are numbered sorry to say. Could be the hickory overpowering the red oak. I don't try board bows anymore because I could never get them to last long so I moved onto staves and will never look back.
Proud to be "regressing"