Author Topic: Sanding  (Read 259 times)

Offline ranger 3

• Trad Bowhunter
Sanding
« on: March 15, 2012, 10:29:00 PM »
How muck tillering can be done with a orbital sander on a Osage stave bow?
Black widow PLX 48@28
Black widow PSRX 48@28

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Sanding
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 10:53:00 PM »
How patient are you?
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline psychmonky

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 11:20:00 PM »
Never tried, but I would think the problem would come in knowing how much more you are sanding one limb than the other.

I know that if I just want to reduce weight evenly I can take 10 scrapes off of each limb with a scraper, but I don't know how to gauge that with an orbital.

The same holds true if I want to take more off of one than the other, say 10 scrapes on top and 15 off of the bottom limb. Im not sure how I would do that with a sander.

All that being said, im not very good at tillering yet, so other guys can probably get pretty dang accurate with a sander.
If you're gonna be dumb, you gotta be tough.

Offline 4est trekker

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2012, 11:48:00 PM »
If you've got a pair of scissor, a pocket or hunting knife, etc. laying about the house, you've got a ready-made scraper that will work MUCH faster with more control and less dust than a sander.  In fact, knock the rivet or screw out of the scissors to separate the blades.  Now you've go two scrapers...you'll be making osage curls in no time!
"Walk softly...and carry a bent stick."

"And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, giving thanks to God the Father through him."  Col. 3:17

Offline okie64

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 12:18:00 AM »