Author Topic: Form Build Question  (Read 354 times)

Offline Cruiserpilot

• Trad Bowhunter
Form Build Question
« on: May 13, 2012, 10:14:00 AM »
I'm building my first glass bow and am building it with 1 3/4" limbs.  
I may at a later date build a 2" bow and was wondering if it matters if I build this form 2" wide or need to make the form 1 3/4" for this bow??
It doesn't seem to make a difference to me but I know I have seen threads with people building 1 3/4" forms and talk about sanding it down and taking micrometers to the lumber yards to get the plywood the exact size to make it exactly the width they are looking for.
I'm a super newbie here so just don't want to overlook something.
I can see making a form too narrow being a problem but is there an issue with making it wider than the limbs your building (2" for a 1 3/4 bow)???? I guess I could see making sure the lams are straight in the form would be slightly easier with a matching width....??

Thanks in advance for helping the new guy on the block.

Offline Trux Turning

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Form Build Question
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 11:09:00 AM »
Having the width of you form match your bow width is important- stuff likes to slide around once you add glue. You could make a 2" form for 1 3/4" bows if you build in some stops for the smaller width. To narrow a form and you could get some limb cupping- to wide and your stack could slip around in the form.

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 11:33:00 AM »
Yep on what Dave said!

My stuff wants to slide with the right width form!

Welcome to the building sickness!  :wavey:
Stay sharp, Kenny.

https://www.kennysarchery.com/

Offline Cruiserpilot

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2012, 11:35:00 AM »
As I look at the design of the form I don't see what would keep the lams from sliding around either way??  There is a plywood spacer to keep the metal bars away from the lams.