Author Topic: First glass bow with a twist.  (Read 262 times)

Offline Nicon

• Trad Bowhunter
First glass bow with a twist.
« on: May 30, 2012, 02:00:00 PM »
Heynow! My name is Gert and i'm a newbie bowyer from Estonia.
This is my first bow in 6-7 years and my first glass RD.

It was planned as a  68" 40#-ish @ 28" RD for target shooting. It has a slight glued in twist in it. My form was uneven...
Can a glued in twist be fixed, or will it be ok with the twist in? I tried removing material from the stronger side. I removed quite alot becaus it was also a little bit on the heavy side, but it had no effect. Also tried heating and twisting. After heatit had a little oposite twist in it, but the old twist came back after stringing it.

I hope i don't have to scrap it. Materials here in Estonia are crazy expensive! Quart of smooth-on ea 40 was 100$...

Also a question about measuring arrow spine. Do i measure the stiff side and use that measurement to select the shafts?

Offline 2treks

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First glass bow with a twist.
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 03:26:00 PM »
Show us a picture of the bow un-braced please. Back side up and sighted from tip to tip.
And maybe a picture of the side with string on.
Stiff side of arrow is correct, And,

WELCOME to Tradgang!
C.A.Deshler
United States Navy.
1986-1990

"Our greatest fear should not be of failure but of succeeding at things in life that don't really matter.”
~ Francis Chan

Offline Dale in Pa

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 08:25:00 PM »
Gert, You need to remove material off of the right side of limb tips as it's pictured. on both limbs to bring the string to the center and then cut nock grooves deeper on R sides.

Offline Trux Turning

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2012, 09:08:00 AM »